Jump directly to the content

I'M A Celebrity... Get Me Out of Here! is back for its latest series and the campmates have already been eating some weird and wonderful things.

However, are there any vegans in the jungle this year and does veganism affect the Bushtucker Trials?

 Boy George is a vegetarian
1
Boy George is a vegetarian

Who are the vegans or vegetarians on this year’s I’m a Celeb?

In the 2022 celeb line-up Boy George is the only contestant who is vegetarian.

The singer first spoke out about his dietary choices in 2013, writing on Twitter: "I’m not vegan or raw. I have lots of vegan and raw food. I don’t have cow’s produce ever! I am gay though!"

Then, in a 2018 interview on This Morning he said: "I’m vegetarian, not vegan. I couldn’t live in a world without cheese… I have cheese every day."

Can vegans and vegetarians take part in Bushtucker Trials?

Yes, 2018 contestants James, Fleur and Sair were given the green light not to take part in any tasks that require them to eat animal products if they didn't want to.

However, Fleur stated before she went into the jungle that she didn't intend to be vegan in the jungle and would eat anything.

Each year, the ITV series challenges campmates to eat a succession of disgusting meals, from fish eyes and witchetty grubs to cockroach milkshakes and crocodile penis.

Have other vegans and vegetarians taken part before?

Vegans have taken part in the show since series one.

In 2017, stand-up comedian Shappi Khorsandi revealed that she was vegan shortly before joining the Jungle.

However, she ditched her plant-based diet for the show. Eventually, she did confess to falling ill, where she requested vegan-only food for the remainder of the show.

At the time, Shappi said: “I had meat, and I was really, really physically sick, five times in one hour. It was horrible.”

What is a vegan diet?

Veganism is currently defined as "a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose".

The term "vegan" comes from the first and last letters of the word vegetarian.

Vegetarians do not eat any animal flesh - this includes cow, pig, chicken and fish.

Vegans go further by not eating anything derived from an animal, including eggs, milk and butter. Honey, meanwhile, is rather divisive in the vegan community.

Topics